Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This weekend we went to The Iron Roost in Ballston Spa. I hadn’t really heard of it, but Matt’s been there a couple times and said the Bananas Foster waffles were amazing. The decor in the place was really lovely–everything celebrated autumn and the old brick walls accentuated the country chic theme. The place was hopping, and we were lucky to get a table almost immediately.

Matt and I both got the caramel pumpkin coffee special, it was absolutely delicious and not overly sweet.

Caramel Pumpkin Coffee at The Iron Roost

Caramel Pumpkin Coffee

I was in the mood for a savory waffle and had never had one before anyway, so I got the Southwestern Fiesta.

IMG_2694

Matt was looking for a sweeter one (and I wasn’t on the menu), so he ordered the French Toast Waffle.

IMG_2695

They both came out relatively quickly. I was not really impressed with the Southwestern Fiesta, there was hardly any sour cream on it and I didn’t see much tomato, but the egg was really good. I would rate the Southwestern Fiesta 2 Randys. Matt’s waffle was great, very fluffy and sweet. He rates it 4 Randys. We both had a side of bacon and let me tell you, it was the best bacon I’ve ever had at a restaurant.

Overall, I would rate The Iron Roost 3-1/2 Randys. The service was nice, the food was good and the coffee was fabulous.

 

IMG_2690

